This is the "Home" page of the "Annotated Bibliographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Annotated Bibliographies   Tags: annotated bibliographies  

Everything you need to know ...
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2016 URL: http://libguides.seaburyhall.org/annotated-bibliographies Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Best Practices for ANNOTATIONS

• Best practice for a preliminary search annotated bibliography:

Your 3-6 sentence annotation includes the following information:

1. Summary of the article/book. 

2. The intended audience.

3. The main arguments of the article/book.

4. Topics covered.

5. Special features. (charts, photographs, etc.)

6. An assessment of the source's usefulness in general.

• Best practice for a final annotated bibliography (works cited):

Your annotation includes the six points above, plus:

7. A reflection on the usefulness of the article/book as it relates to your paper.

 

Why an Annotated Bibliography?

Why write an annotated bibliography?

Here are two excellent answers:

"To learn about your topic.

To help other researchers."

(From Purdue OWL)

"One of the reasons behind citing sources and compiling a general bibliography is so that you can prove you have done some valid research to back up your argument and claims."

from The Writing Center at UNC - Chapel Hill)

Good luck researching!

 

Mrs. Lindsay's Grading Rubric

(For Upper School Projects)
 
TYPE/FORMAT
 
These must be included:
 
(1) Encyclopedia, (2) Magazine article from EBSCO or another HSPLS database (3) Newspaper article (rec: Google News) (4) book - in print or electronic (like Google Books) (5) primary source(s) (6) edu site, (7) gov site
 
Points (usually 5) will be deducted for each missing type.
 

QUALITY OF SOURCES
 
Takes into account credibility of author.
 
Takes into account relevance to the topic.

QUALITY OF ANNOTATIONS
 
See Best Practices for Annotations Box.
 

CHICAGO FORMAT CITATION STYLE

Points will be deducted for:

1. Document not titled correctly
2. Improper (or no) use of italics

3. Entries not alphabetized

4. Second line and succeeding lines not indented

5. Lines not filled in completely to the right margin
6. Annotations not written in third person (You or I or we or us are not acceptable)
 
 
 

Technical Requirements for Ms. Lindsay's Assignments

Mrs. Lindsay's technical requirements:

1. Create your Annotated Bibliography in Easy Bib.

2. Save to Google Docs.

Name your document using the following convention:

USHIST11D(or F or H)-Yourlastname

3. Share your Annotated Bibliography with Ms. Lindsay, giving her commenting rights.

4. Email Ms. Lindsay if you have any questions.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip